Passion or Nothing

Many aspire to be, or do great things in life. That’s because you have passion in what you love doing. Passion is the key to what you’d like to do for the rest of your life. I don’t tell people this not just to say it, but it’s the truth. An example is my own love for lyric writing. Growing up, I had no knowledge of music education. My parents never gave me any true hobbies to have as a kid except reading. Until 2010, I discovered my love for writing poetry. I’d keep a journal, and when that one book ran out of space I would buy another; I kept writing my thoughts out. After writing plain poetry, I started writing lyrics. I studied how rappers lyrics flowed from a verse to a chorus; I found myself writing rap lyrics/songs. Through rapping began my love for songwriting. I had no knowledge of musical notes. I’d always write lyrics and sing them the way I would want someone else to sing it just because the lyrics were incredibly good to my ears. Soon after I applied to UT Dallas. I started taking music courses like music theory. I knew right off the bat what I was getting into. People would tell me its a hard topic to grasp, and that it takes years of practice. But truthfully, ANYTHING takes years of practice.

At the end of the day, I’m graduating as an Arts and Performance Major. I know what I want to do in life. I want to work in the music industry. It’s my passion. Whether its co-writing a song, booking tours, or helping out with scheduling. I want to be able to make a difference in the music community. I want to help others achieve their dreams the way I’m on my way to achieve mine. Most of the time no one is there to hold your hand. You have to work as hard as you can to get where you need to be. So I tell you now…if you have a dream go after it! Don’t look at how much work you have to do to get there, but just do it because you love it. Do it  because of what you’ll get out of it and trust me you won’t regret it.

“Without Passion, One Has Nothing

@NievesReyes @YourMusicDiet

One thought on “Passion or Nothing

Leave a Reply

